ONI’s Top Performers Recognized at 142nd Anniversary Celebration

NIP Chair Presents NIP-Sponsored Awards 

On 22 March 2024, ONI celebrated its 142nd anniversary and presented its annual awards to deserving sailors and civilians. NIP Chair VADM (Ret) Bob Sharp was there to present the NIP-sponsored awards. 

The 2023 ONI Sailors of the Year were:   

Both the 2023 Captain Sidney Wood ONI Junior Officer of the Year award and the 2023 ONI Civilian Leadership award was presented, but the names of the individuals are being withheld at their request.  

ADM (Ret) Bill Studeman, Rich Haver, and RADM (Ret) Tom Brooks attended the ceremony, sporting their blue NIP ties, with VADM (Ret) Sharp wearing his red one. The NIP-sponsored award recipients all received a plaque and a free one-year NIP membership. 

All ONI awardees, along with NIP Chair VADM (Ret) Bob Sharp (far left), COMONI RADM Michael Brookes (3rd from left) and Dep COMONI Mr. Andrew Richardson (far right)
VADM (Ret) Bob Sharp presents SOY (Sea) award to STS1 Marco Estrada.
VADM (Ret) Bob Sharp presents SOY (Shore) award to CTT1 Nichole Garfolo.
VADM (Ret) Bob Sharp presents Blue Jacket of the Year (Shore) to CTT2 Victoria Ralph.
RADM Michael Brookes introduces VADM (Ret) Bob Sharp.
NIP Chair VADM (Ret) Bob Sharp speaking at the celebration.